Lessons Hong Kong ought to learn from Italy: Advice from my Five Favourite Cities

It’s officially been four months since I arrived in Milan for a semester of exchange, and I’ll be heading back to Hong Kong in a few days.

During my time, I spent many weekends visiting different cities around Italy, and got a chance to experience culture unique to specific regions.

And I’ve got to say, there are many lessons Hong Kong can learn from these places.

Fashion advice from the World’s Fashion Capital – Milan

How do you decide whether or not you should buy that nice shirt you just saw in the previous shop?

I need two checkmarks before I make a purchase:

  1. “Do I look professional?”
  2. “OMG this thing is on sale I gotta buy it”

But that isn’t the thing in the fashion capital of the world.

In the city of Milan, I would notice how people actually took out the time to dress well. At 8:45am, you’d think you could pull off a hoodie and pyjamas to class, but my classes with locals proved otherwise.

Everyone’s dressed well. Clothes, makeup, you name it.

Another thing is, many Italians love bright colours. They’re all about making the environment more vibrant.

In Hong Kong, black and blue are probably the most common colours you’d see in workplaces. In Italy, it’s red, purple, turquoise, shocking pink, green, I could go on. Sometimes even with their villas and cars.

And I think it’s something Hong Kong people could try out.

Sometimes colours that make you pop could be a recipe for standing out at work.

Sometimes colours help you rediscover yourself through a makeover.

Sometimes they simply bring joy into our dull workaholic lives of black and blue in the 852.

IMG_7318
Milan has annual Fashion Weeks for its men and women!
IMG_7317
During Fashion Week, models walked around the streets of Milan for free photos!
IMG_8900
Colourful, huh?

Details matter – Naples

During my stay in Italy, I spent a long weekend along the Amalfi Coast and in Naples. Despite having pizza for all my meals for 5 days straight, I had some of the best food I’ve ever tasted.

Italians cook so well, and I believe it’s because they pay attention to the details.

In Hong Kong, it’s about getting it done fast.

The pizza base is hot. Cheese melted. Just put a few veggies on the side.

In Naples, I was inspired of seeing even the smallest of restaurant owners investing in ovens that ensured every millimeter of the pizza was heated evenly. Then comes the cheese, herbs and veggies (if you really need them).

I also notice Italians are very innovative with food, and never afraid to try something new. One ingredient different and it’s a whole new dish. You’ll be surprised how many margheritas I saw in one menu…

IMG_0096

The South is also famous for its oranges and lemons, and they aren’t afraid to put lemon peel on their pizza – one of the reasons many people love it even more!

5022ab0f-f77d-482a-8a02-393cd80cfcd4
Notice any lemon zest?

Small details can make a big difference. If you’re willing to spend a little more time, it can make a big difference with whatever you’re trying to achieve.

A few more minutes garnishing that pizza, and you might just fool someone you learnt how to make pizza at Neapolitan school.

Conservation is key along the Amalfi – Amalfi Coast

If you ask me to close my eyes and picture the most beautiful place I’ve ever traveled to, I’d have flashbacks along the Amalfi Coast.

The breezy beaches where I’d soak up sunshine.

The rosy gardens complimenting the breathtaking blue skyline.

The picturesque villas where I’d click photos to capture one of the most memorable holidays of my life.

I can’t just say it’d be a bummer to lose these sights, because it’d be worse.

Yes, worse.

It’s important we start taking action to keep our beaches clean, prevent acid rain and put an end to global warming – in all parts of the world.

An eye-opener from my exchange experience was the idea of Italians being required to take recycling seriously. I admire the fact that Milan requires residents to sort their trash in their recycle bins. It’s certainly a stepping stone for Hong Kong to take on in its environmental game.

Trial and Experimental Errors – Turin

On my 20th birthday, I visited a city neighboring Milan called Turin.

Not many people know this, but Turin is the chocolate capital of Europe, and in fact, the birthplace of hot chocolate and Nutella.

The Nutella story was an interesting insight from my Turin trip, as I got to learn about how an experiment by local businessman Pietro Ferrero turned a small pastry shop into the world’s leading chocolate-nut spread.

Pietro was curious as to whether adding hazelnut could save money on the production costs of chocolate at his wife’s pastry shop. His small experiment not only lead to the groundbreaking discovery of Nutella, but the founding of the first brand that allowed people to enjoy confectionery at a very affordable price.

Today the brand is run by Giovanni Ferrero, grandson of Pietro and son to Michele Ferrero. Alongside Nutella, the company currently produces several lines of confectionery goods under various brand names, including Kinder, Tic-toc, and you’ve probably guessed by now, Ferrero Rocher.

And I’m sure Pietro wasn’t the only experimenter in Turin. Going around the town, I saw many local coffee and chocolate shops mix interesting ingredients together to create delicacies.

Around Milan, I’d also see many local coffee shops change their menus regularly and experiment with coffees, chocolate and desserts to find the best for their customers.

It teaches you that it’s important to keep experimenting if you’re looking for the best. Sometimes, it’s just a matter of stepping out of that comfort zone and telling yourself there’s no such thing as a stupid idea. Or if there is, maybe that stupid idea is worth trying.

DSC09675
Welcome to Turin!
DSC09724
The Italians love combining chocolate and coffee!

Gratitude and the test of time – Pompeii

As a vegetarian supporting animal rights, walking down the poultry aisle of the supermarket is emotional discomfort. Pompeii was a whole new story.

Once a Roman city, Pompeii is currently the remains of what proved to be a catastrophic eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 A.D. The site has been a tourist attraction for over 250 years, with a UNESCO World Heritage Site status.

Walking onto the sites was a big surprise. From the statues of the citizens, what day-to-day life looked like at the time of the eruption, all the way to being able to read the reactions of the victims who couldn’t escape the disaster.

It made me feel grateful for the circumstances I have in my life.

I don’t live near a volcano (and I hopefully won’t be moving anytime soon.) But I certainly know there are people that do. People that face the risk of volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, typhoons. This list could go on.

I always pray for friends and family on the opposite side of the world when disaster suddenly strikes (and everyone on social media makes you retweet heartwarming things).

But Pompeii has really taught me to be grateful – always.

You don’t need a volcanic eruption for a simple “thank you” to the people that have – and always will make your life absolutely great.

IMG_9218
Statues preserved with the remains of Pompeii
IMG_9070
The reactions of victims to Mount Vesuvius
IMG_9067
Artifacts from Pompeii dating back to 79 A.D. or earlier

Leave a comment